The Thief of Time

The Thief of Time

procrastinators anonymous

 

Procrastination is the thief of time.
Edward Young 

The habit of procrastination involves putting off performing duties or tasks and most times only doing so at the last minute. This causes much stress and agitation. Some individuals seem to work better or produce better results when they are under pressure and hence give procrastination no thought at all.

Procrastination is something best put off until tomorrow.

Gerald Vaughan

Personally I procrastinate a lot; my thinking sometimes is: ‘why do it now, when it can be done later’. Throughout university, I was never the person to go over a topic covered or worse still a topic to be covered. Most times I started preparing for exams two weeks before the start date, unlike some who prepared way in advance.

Procrastination is the grave in which opportunity is buried.
Author Unknown

A lot of times I would realise that if only I had studied some more I would have being able to identify the topics I was weak at and seek assistance way before the exam day. Procrastination often caused me to miss the opportunity to get someone to clarify a point and hence I found myself struggling to tackle any questions in that area.

Tomorrow is often the busiest day of the week.
Spanish Proverb

This changed a bit when I was in grad school; first I missed the first two weeks of lectures and in adjusting to the education system in a different country I found that I actually had to read up those topics to catch up (the horror!). For the sake of my academic success I had to get used to the idea of preparing for lectures by reading the case studies for the week. A lot of times I had about 4 different case studies and at least a chapter in a text book for each. Believe me it wasn’t easy but I had to do it and it certainly paid off.

Everyone has their reasons for procrastinating, some of which I have found to be;

  • Lack of motivation
  • Laziness
  • A carefree nature
  • Uncertainty/fear

It would be horribly pretentious of me to offer advice on how to overcome procrastination because I haven’t totally  overcome it. I have found however that what has helped me is to write to-do lists on a daily basis. This helps me put in perspective what I need to get done. I also try to tell someone else my plans knowing they would ask me for an update later, kind of an accountability partner.

No one knows what tomorrow holds so make the most of today!

P.S: Anyone seeking resources and tactics for overcoming procrastination should try a simple google search.

P.P.S: Do share your own procrastination stories or tips to overcome!

Img Src: Science Blogs

2 thoughts on “The Thief of Time

  1. I hate procrastination and I hate the fact that I always procastinate to stop procastination lol. The same happened wiv me; I got a lil better after grad school but ‘the better’ is not still enough to me(I guess).

    I love the quotes you added. Especially “Procrastination is the grave in which opportunity is buried”. I hope to always remember that. Thanks for sharin this. much luv xXx

Leave a Reply

