Let’s go back to basics

Let’s go back to basics

I’ve been keeping up with the news reports about the riots in London. I was very shocked by the images I saw on my screen. The unrest from London moved to other cities including Manchester.

As I watched the scenes from Greater Manchester, I recognised most of the spots. Sadly, the standoff between youths and police was right in my former neighbourhood in Salford. I could actually see my building in most of the footage.

It’s so sad to see what the youths are doing. It’s a sign that something has gone wrong in the society’s basic unit; the family. The purpose of the original protest has been overshadowed and all focus will rest on the mindless looting and destruction of property.

Leave a Reply

