November Reflections

November Reflections

November seems to have gone by pretty quickly, it’s been a good month for us as a family. For me it has been a month of learning. I have learnt so many new things regarding my roles as wife and mum.

Every new parent will attest to the fact that a baby changes things in a relationship and we are no exception. One habit we developed in the last couple of months and really enforced this month has been; spending time together once the baby in bed every night. I have learnt to be consistent with D’s bedtime,ensuring that he is in bed early, giving the hubs and me time together.

We attended a Couples’ Timeout event organised by our church around mid-November, we had to take D with us because we didn’t have any child-care arrangement, but it was fun still. The event was on a Saturday and started about mid afternoon and was over by about 7:30/8pm. The theme was Submitting to one another. I can honestly say that before then I never heard of this portion of the Bible because the usual emphasised verse is the one regarding wives submitting to their own husbands. The guest speaker was Pastor Ruth Essien and I must say I was refuelled by her talk.

Submitting yourselves one to another in the fear of God.
– Ephesians 5:21

Something else I learnt or discovered this month is regarding being a wife, mother and homemaker. At several times we have discussed the issue of getting help around the house, but I do not feel the need for that right now. Sure, it would be great to have someone to take the load off me and not have to do certain tasks, but I have discovered that with proper planning and management I can accomplish most of my tasks without getting overwhelmed. Funny enough, it was one of the questions that came up during the interactive sessions of the Couples’ Retreat. I now manage my tasks spreading them out over the various days of the week.

Yes, November was a learning month and the number one thing intake away with me is making time for the important relationships in my life.

One thought on “November Reflections

Leave a Reply

